The Declaration of Independence

January 22, 2018

The Declaration of Independence

The Declaration of Independence, the fundamental document of the American Revolution adopted by the Continental Congress on July 4, 1776, and the proclamation of separation from Britain of its 13 North American colonies. The inevitability of a break with the metropolis, especially increased after the beginning of military operations in April 1775, was realized by an increasing number of Americans.

June 7, 1776 RG Lee at a meeting of the congress introduced a resolution supported by John Adams, who asserted: “that these United Colonies are and by rights should be free and independent States; that they are completely freed from loyalty to the British crown; that any political connection between them and the state of Great Britain is and must be completely dissolved. To prepare the Declaration of Independence in support of this resolution, a committee was elected consisting of Thomas Jefferson, John Adams, B. Franklin, R. Sherman and RR Livingston.

The declaration of independence not only explained the reasons that prompted the Americans to secede from the mother country. This was the first document in history that proclaimed the principle of sovereignty as the basis of the state system. Its hammered language asserted for the people the right to insurrection and overthrow of the despotic government, proclaimed the basic ideas of democracy – the equality of people, their “inalienable rights, among which the right to life, freedom and the pursuit of happiness.” The Declaration was not only a “testament to the birth” of the new state, but also a recognized monument of American literature: Jefferson succeeded in expressing well-known principles and ideas in an excellent language, in short and accessible form.